Home

Reflective writing

LONDON POSTER COMPETITION: (I)

I started this year scared because I knew there would be more independent learning. The London poster competition wasn’t the greatest project for me, because I couldn’t think of a London poster that represents London transport that has not been done already. But in the end I produced a simple plain screen-printed image of what London transport is to me. For me it’s all about the train station the rush hour and crowds to get to the ticket office first a typical nightmare.

PENGUIN BOOK COMPETITION: (II)

Moving on to my second project the penguin book cover competition. I had to produce two front and back covers for penguin books. I first started off reading the first book the outsiders. I really liked the booked and planned on watching the film after I finish university. Because the trailer was really good. So then I started sketching out some olden day punk themes I thought related to the book but then I realised I was only trying to copy what I have read on to the covers, and it wasn’t working. Because the penguin books had strict rules on how we were to make our books covers and a lot of people were going for them whole olden day grease movie theme. Because of the era it was set. But some how I came up with the idea of only having one piece of clothing to represent what the book is about. And later I came up with converses because I lover converses who doesn’t they are popular, world wide and easy shoes. And also my second year project inspired me, the London poster one where we had to go to st Pancras and pick some thing that stood out to us. And I recording people who walked with converses around kings cross but I had to abandon that because of the area not a lot of people worn converses a lot of people worn classic office shoes. Moving on I started looking at different angles of my own converse and was just playing with what works well. I final got the inspiration from a TV series I watch and in the opening credits there are Nike trainers hanging off an electrical cable. So that’s when I knew how I wanted my image to be placed on my covers. I didn’t chose not to do a background I just didn’t have enough time so I scrapped it and it even worked better without a one.

Thus brings me on to the second book I had to produce a cover for. What a carve up, I had notice no one in both classes really read this book or was as interested in it as they were in the outsiders book. Neither was you and I could see it in my work I wasn’t interested in the slightest and my work did suffer because of that. I tried to do a quick simple drawing of the main family the book focuses on but then I cut it down to the four main characters in the family. I kept it black and white because the book was rather plain to me like a dull black and white movie. But it didn’t look finished so I tried to recreate the original penguin book cover it has two orange stripes. So I did that on mine but it did look rubbish.

FINAL MAJOR PROJECT: (III)

I started this project with an idea that strong. But I lost my way many times. My first idea was to base my FMP on Sigmund Freud’s theories on dreams thus linking to our unconsciousness. But then I changed it to just dreams in general but that was to broad, because I thought about analysing peoples dreams like Freud’s case studies and making my own theories from them, also recording my own dreams. But it would have been kind of self-centred if I did base on my dreams. I first started playing with marble inks because they have this flowing dream like effect and my initial idea was to use them as a background. There were going nowhere and I didn’t know how to work them into my project. I found myself trying to mould more than one project in to one.

So then I moved back on to Sigmund Freud’s theories. I read his books the interpretation of dreams; the human unconscious and he wolf man. I started by gathering as much information I could but I found myself reading a lot and it felt like I was spending all my time reading and not producing any images. So I left the writing and used the information I had obtained from Freud’s books and started sketching my ideas. I then started looking at surrealist artists; such as Shalha Rosa one of the best female surrealist artist around. As their works are dream like and mostly relate to the unconscious. Then I found out Sigmund Freud was a big influence on the surrealist movement and often collaborated with the founder of the surrealist movement, Andre Breton. I also looked at Salvador Dali and Giorgio De Chirico they were also members of the surrealist movement. My inspiration was surrealist artists and Sigmund Freud’s case study and his theory on dream and our unconsciousness.

Finally I decided to create my own storyboard of the wolf man. Then produce it by lino printing it first to keep it simple because with lino printing it is really hard to do a lot of complicated detail. I original started with 13 scenes 4 along and 3 down, then cut it down to 9 so 3 along and 3 down, and now I changed it to 8 scenes only I took out the 9th one last minute because it wasn’t as strong as the rest of my images. So that’s 4 across and 2 down. I did them all A5 on an A4 then screen-printed them first on to A1 then I moved on to canvas. But I had a lot of problems printed on to a raised canvas so I had to pull the canvas fabric off the wooden frame then print, but I was going to put it back on but my measurements were off and one image was not inline with the rest so I had to cut it down to A4 size then I stretch it over form board.

What I would of done differently is manage my time better I know I always say that but I still haven’t learnt after all this time to mange my time. I always make a plan but I never stick to it and that can be good some times, but once I start going off track its really hard for me to get back on track so I end up making it up as I go along. I would of like to try different techniques of visual language. I need to get out of my comfort zone.

AFTER UNIVERSITY

University has helped me make my own mark and an image doesn’t have to be overly complication to make a perfect image. My plan after to university was to always do a masters I wanted to get in all the training I could get but now I feel the need to take a break and work on my personal work and build up my portfolio. But the long-term plan has always been to move to japan and begin my character-designing career there.

Lindda Charlene morgan
1106473
illustration

Leave a comment